There are seven continents in the world namely: Africa, Europe, Asia, North America, South America, Australia and Antarctica. People do not reside in Antarctica because it is too cold for human habitation.

Before now, all the seven continents were together as a single landmass called Pangaea. Because of the fact that the continents float on molten rock (magma) in the mantle, the continents drift away from one another. At present, it has been scientifically proved that South American continent is moving away from African continent at the rate of 3 to 5cm per year!

Continental Drift. (Photo Credits:

2 thoughts on “CONTINENTAL DRIFT”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *